Dodge B150 Shorty build

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frankieC55

Reaction score
Hello Van Dwelling Community,

I am about to embark on my first van dwelling expedition this summer. I picked up a 1985 Dodge B150 shorty on craigslist in October. I am a new automotive technician student, and am just learning the ropes by trial and error with my new van. My girlfriend and I are going to drive it south from Chicago to New Orleans and then head to the West Coast through the south this summer. I then want to head up the coast, potentially to Alaska, and back East through Canada. I am a big railfan, and am planning to visit lots of museums and shortlines along the way. I am a very slow and fuel economy conscious driver and am planning to take it very easy along secondary highways.

My van is equipped with the infamously indestructable Chrysler 225 Slant Six coupled to a 4 speed Manual A833 Transmission. It has 142xxx miles on the recently broken Odometer, and at first I was somewhat apprehensive about driving long distances in a $900 30 year old van. I am feeling much more confident about her abilities now after bringing her to the class for a tune up. It turns out the old Slant Six has perfect compression in all six cylinders. After getting some fresh spark plugs, a new air filter, and a good carb’ cleaning she drove home better than ever. I have a Honda Civic that I daily drive and I usually bike to class; so the van will for the most part remain in the garage until I have her in tip top shape and am ready to head south for the Summer. I was pleasantly surprised at how light this van is. I put it on the scale when I used it to haul some scrap to the junkyard, and it only weighs in at around 3700 pounds.
image_zps98b5d168.jpeg