Cats Dog Van

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

catmomtoo

Reaction score
It started last July 2019 with a trip to the coast. I’ve been an avid camper since the age of 18, camping on the beaches near Santa Cruz California.  My first husband and I graduated from a Suzuki Samurai, to a Jeep CJ5 soft top with Jamboree Rack, gas cans, Warn Winch, 33” mudders. We belonged to a 4-Wheel club in Grass Valley, and were regular weekend warriors all over Northern California, and a memory-making trip to Bodi Nevada.  

[size=small][font=Tahoma, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif][size=small][size=small]Next stage of life included several houses, a new husband, children, PTA president, a recession in 2000 to 2010, but we made it. Off to Denver for a few years to chase a career. That ended, so back to my beloved Oregon. Kids are grown and gone. I needed something to invest in. A project that would hold my attention as we know work is not everything there is![/size][/size]
[/font][/size]

Last year my daughter and I were camping along the coast during the 4th of July holiday, so it was more busy than my liking.  We were moseying along the shores and I was looking at all the various rigs that fishermen and surfers were using to do their thing. I saw the camper van converted to living space and it HIT me!  That's what I wanted! I hate campgrounds (yes I'm a hermit!) so the dream began. I spent months watching Youtube to figure out a floor plan. I totally resonated with CRVL the "no-build" build.  I wanted recycled products, things I already owned, and use plastic instead of wood to save weight and gasoline. 

I will add more photos and the plans soon, and continue this post. Feel free to make suggestions or ask questions. Thinking out loud is fine too!  Thanks for reading.