Camping in State and Natl. Park Rates higher for out-of-State

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
It’s not uncommon for state parks to charge more for out of state visitors, also to require all to purchase an annual pass or pay a daily fee in lieu of annual.

Federal sites charge the same regardless where you are from, your 50% discount being if you have a Senior or other Pass

The thinking is that the taxes residents pay to the state go in part toward upkeep of state parks. So residents aren't paying less, over all, to use state parks, they're just paying less at the parks. I suppose if you pay a lot in taxes you might technically be paying more to use the parks than non-residents.

yes Federal parks are the same price for everybody. the article you posted says Oregon State Parks, that's all. Highdesertranger

I am a Washington resident, but I have purchased an Oregon Parks Pass, which means I get to use day use areas for free. It cost $30 for a year. (Not all Oregon day use parks charge fees, but the more scenic/desirable ones usually do.)

Also, note that the Oregon legislature removed Oregon parks from general fund (= income taxes) support some decades ago. OPRD is supported entirely by fees, lottery funds, and other non-general fund sources.

A very common pattern for me is to sleep at rest areas or other free sites, and spend the day at day use parks.

I saw that too when I was scouting out a trip into Wyoming. I contacted the state and said that doing so discourages out of state travelers staying in their state parks. I will be staying in National Parks or or private camping spots. I don't get it, sicne an out of state person would more than likely only stay a couple of days a year, why charge more since they will not be using it as much as a local person.