Calculate ah's from wh's? Amp hours watt hours.

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wabbit

Reaction score
To get the ah's, do I just divide the wh's by volts(12)? I think that's correct, just double checking. Thnx!

I am just learning about this - from my notes: A x V = W ... ... ...
So, I would think that W/V = A

... but I was just reading today that there is a difference between A and Ah ... need more coffee ... feels like a rabbit hole lol!!

Kinda same here lol, read a lot but man does that reading crunch my brain!

PattySprinter said:
I am just learning about this - from my notes: A x V = W  ...  ...  ...  
So, I would think that W/V = A

... but I was just reading today that there is a difference between A and Ah ... need more coffee ... feels like a rabbit hole lol!!

Just like there is a difference between miles and miles per hour.  Two different things, really.

Amps is a measure of how much current is flowing in a circuit at any particular instant.  Amp hours is a way of measuring how much power a battery can deliver.  A battery with 100 amp hours can provide 100 amps of current for 1 hour, or 50 amps for 2 hours, or 1 amp for 100 hours, etc.

In Sternwakian terms, that's a little oversimplified, but it's close enough to understand the principle.

100 amp hour battery was tested at a 5 amp, steady draw, for 20 hours. If the drain is 50 amps, the same battery will last a shorter time than 1/2 the hours (10 hrs). The battery puts up more internal resistance at higher ampere rates. It could be as little as 7 hours. Depending on the battery.
Divide the AH rating by the hours tested, should be 20 hours in a standard test. That gives you the tested ampere draw. You can use half of that.

Sorry. I was disconnected. My above thought is incomplete. You can use about half your amp hour capacity. I must go now.

PattySprinter said: