Box van conversion

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DravesD

Reaction score
Hello, I'm getting ready for van life and would welcome any advice your willing to give. I'm 26 currently working full time and making about $2,000 a month. I recently bought a Chevy G30 1ton box van and will be replacing the engine in it in the next couple months. I have started to accumulate materials for my build and have settled on the main design, but I plan on building the van out in stages so I can see what areas I need to work on as I  go to make it custom to my needs without needing to rebuild later. I have 10 years of experience in construction and usto work with my dad as a handy man. 

I have an older cat that likes to wonder. I plan to park on various areas and do camp grounds once in a while around my town to stay close to work, but on my time off I plan to go out of town and enjoy the surrounding areas. I have traveled a lot in the past and camped in tents, but I haven't traveled much with pets and I'm not sure how he'll like it. I plan on getting a tracker for his collar in case he gets lost. He does stay inside most of the time, but once in a while he does go out and wonders around, but usually stays within earshot. 

I recently had a health issue come up that drained my savings which is part of why I'm spreading my build over a longer period. I'm getting a lot of my materials second hand and discounted to save as much as I can. I plan on building my storage and wiring the van myself (to save money) in stages to see what I need and what I can do without.