Bank account issue

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdoverl

Reaction score
I’m running into an issue where I can’t open a bank account because I’m not a resident. Banks want so much information proving I’m a resident, which I don’t have. Any suggestions? I was thinking a prepaid credit card but I’m not sure how I would deal with direct deposit for pay checks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Does the bank you used in your previous state have online services?

When I moved to AZ 3 years ago I kept my accounts with 2 out-of-state credit unions and can do everything online.

slow2day said:
Does the bank you used in your previous state have online services?

When I moved to AZ 3 years ago I kept my accounts with 2 out-of-state credit unions and can do everything online.

I don’t want to use that bank because I have a joint account. Even if I open a separate bank account with them, my ex girlfriend could easily get added to the account, she’s done it before. I need an entirely new bank.

It's called "Know Your Customer", aka KYC. Somehow it doesn't stop big time money laundering.

It may be possible to use your current bank, opening an individual account with your information that they have currently. Switch the mailing address to a mail forwarder.

I kept the East coast bank that I was using in New Jersey and Michigan before I moved West. Nearest branch to me in Nevada, is on the east bank of the Mississippi. I can deposit paper checks with a phone app. My renter in Michigan deposits the rent into my account at a local branch.