Air Compressor and Electrical

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arizonatruck

Reaction score
Unsure on where to put this.

I plan on working and living out of my 20 foot enclosed trailer. I am a mechanic/technician. One of my tools is an air compressor. I am trying to figure out how to the compressor without needing to run a generator. To do solar would seem to be way to expensive and need way to many solar panels. I figure it would take at least .5 to 1kw in solar and at least a 200 amp hour battery pack just for the compressor.

The only other things I would usually use are battery powered drills/impacts as well as ham and handheld radios and some lighting that only take approximately a total of 150 watts.

Trying not to have to consume as much fuel, although costs for it have gone down. I also don't want to have to keep so much fuel on hand except for my vehicle. Plus, I don't like the fumes or the noise of the generator.

Have you looked at 12v compressors? I'm not sure what tools you need to run, but I have a Puma oilless compressor and I've been rather impressed. I actually use mine for diving, but in a pinch have used it with an impact to remove wheels, to fill tires and to inflate my Zodiac many times.

Obviously it won't keep up with high air flow needs like grinding wheels, but it works for many applications.

Here's the one I have..

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PUMA-TWIN-T...H_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item41631a5539&vxp=mtr

If you simply MUST run a typical workshop compressor, you will need:

1: A shore power connection
2: A generator
3: A huge battery bank/solar panel system/inverter.

Pick one of those three. Sorry, there is no magic option #4

You didn't say how often you needed the compressor, nor how long it needed to run when you did use it.