A van? Not what I first expected, but... OK!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jack

Reaction score
I'm brand new to nomad living.  (See my post in the Intros.)  I started out wanting a tiny house.  Then I found Bob's YouTube channel and that opened up my world!  I switched to wanting a Class B.  Upon further (and endless) video watching, I've come to realize that, at least right now, van life is exactly what I need.  How did I learn that?  The "comfort vs freedom" video.  Priceless.  So, unless a different vehicle comes along that I can't pass up (like that interesting ambulance conversion), I'm going with a van.

My Goal:  Full time van living.  Plenty of travel and following the weather.  (I'm a spring and fall kind of guy.)  I also want to be able to go places you can't drive an RV or tow a tiny house.  I'm very much a rural/country kind of guy and have no desire to explore big cities.  I prefer the cold to the heat, though.  I'm a polar bear.  My only concern about living in a van in winter is getting stuck in the snow.  

Dilemma:  It's going to be a bit until I can buy a van.  I'm debt free but coming from apartment living.  I don't own a house I can sell, or even own a vehicle right now.  (City transport.)  Having no cash on hand is something I can deal with.  The dream is strong enough to make it happen.  Hopefully, by summer 2019 (1 year.)