77' G20 Rebuild

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoRow

Reaction score
Hey Everyone!

I just brought home my first van today. She's an old beast but only has 120k and seems to run strong and shift smooth (and was cheap!) so I took the risk. The other thing that I liked is already has all of the appliances that I need so I'm hoping that they all work and or can be repaired. I'm pretty mechanical and have good access to tools and a decent amount of cash to put into this build because I was able to get my van for much less than I had planned. Anyway I just wanted to document my rebuild here because I'm going to have lots of questions and I'm a total noob so it would be cool if you guys gave me your thoughts on what I'm doing.

So far it's just been tear down. And testing the appliances. So far I know that the fridge gets cold on AC power but the seal is shot. It can also run on 12v too which I have yet to test.

Also does anyone know anything about ancient power inverters? Should I probably just buy a new one? 

mhkzXh6.jpg

lQ2oRcS.jpg

those seats in the above image are just sitting there. i'm thinkin about trying to swap them out for the current ones which are uncomfortable AF
C8JqmEu.jpg

cQgoCMM.jpg

good start,use real wood or plywood no osb or particle board,if you hit craigslist there is usually some hardwood entertainment centers/desks for free or cheap,good oak and cherry

what did you give for the van?

Gary68 said:
good start,use real wood or plywood no osb or particle board,if you hit craigslist there is usually some hardwood entertainment centers/desks for free or cheap,good oak and cherry

what did you give for the van?

Sweet. Thanks for the tip!

$900 for it. Only time will tell if it truly ends up being a good deal tho.

Hello and Welcome,