1978 holiday monitor--1st RV with lots of q's like where can we plug this baby in??

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monitor the Dragon

Reaction score
Newbie here in Iowa looking for help as we renovate our vintage camper.  Drove it her home and we got way too excited and started demo on her the very  next day--to assess the water damage....took out the dated kitchen bottom cabinets, sink, several of the walls, threw out the stove (we will use a cooktop) and got it down to the studs. We THEN realized that was probably a mistake since we have NO idea what works in our rig: water pump, water heater, sinks, generator, main propane heater for the back, lights, etc.  we are pretty handy but are so overwhelmed with what to tackle first.  Lots of water damage and what looks like mold in some corners.  Also a lot of leaks by windows especially the one above the cab. 

We took it to a dealer in Cedar Rapids,  hoping they would inspect it but they declined due to the disarray of wires and lack of sink.  They didnt want to be libel for damage for disconnected water hoses, etc.   Then we went to a Walmart hoping to find a plug in to figure out things on our own (it stated there was some on the website) and couldn't find a single one. All the campgrounds are closed until April. Then we tried to start the generator with the battery and discovered it was very dead (it had been sitting a while) and it just won't turn over.  We are having a day of "no". 

Any advice or encouragement for these overwhelmed newbies and where the heck can we plug her in to see what works (all lights are still connected and we didn't touch the ceiling). I attached pics of the water damage I'm concerned about as well as the very dirty window tracks--how can I clean these because this may be the reason our windows are leaking??

Attachments

• IMG_7176.JPG
    IMG_7176.JPG