Wood or Metal [split from Too many good ideas]

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

watson

Reaction score
I'm just getting into van camping and I've got a question for those who have the experience. I see all these different builds for beds out of wood. That seems like it would add a lot of weight. Wouldn't it be simpler to go with a metal frame? Granted you may have to cut it down and weld it back together and you'd most like have to add to the legs but it seems it would be lighter, an easier build and potentially cheaper with what places like Big Lots sells the single frame for. Any comments would be appreciated before I get too far down that road.

Most people find it a lot easier to work wood than metal.  Very few people can weld.

A wood frame bed doesn't necessarily have to be heavy!

A lot of people over engineer their bed frames. My first bed frame back in 1975 was built with nothing less than 2x4's on 16" centers with 1" plywood for the top.

My last bed frame is built with 1/2" plywood stood on it's side and a 3/4" plywood top so that it won't warp.

Ok, the first one would withstand an energetic young couple doing all kinds of gymnastics on it. The newest one...well, I'm much older now so no gymnastics are likely.... :D 

The easy part about using wood, aside from not needing welding skills, is the ability to go around obstacles like wheel wells and silly things that jut out from the walls of the van. Also you can taper things to conform to the curve of the walls etc.

When I first started my build, I built the lightest wood bed platform that I could imagine - using only 2x3 lumber and 1/4" Luan.