Why I Live and Travel in a Van

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Lenny, I just wanted to add my encouragement to your project. As someone who is new to van life, and still in the planning and pre-buying stage, I would buy your book. I think you're doing a great job! Thanks for sharing this.

I didn't even notice the date on the thread! Congratulations! This brings to mind a question I've wondered about for myself, as a writer. Since you wrote a book about your experiences, and had to travel to get them, did you get to write off any of your expenses for tax purposes?

Yes, as a writer I get to write off my expenses that go towards writing.

As a writer myself, this is good to know.  I'm working on creating several streams of income involving writing before I buy my van and hit the road.  I'll have to check into the write offs.

Jack said:
As a writer myself, this is good to know.  I'm working on creating several streams of income involving writing before I buy my van and hit the road.  I'll have to check into the write offs.
We all knew from the very beginning that you were writing a book, Jack. No one else would start so many threads, take so many polls, and ask so many questions. LOL. For reference, let me say off the top that the most boring books I've ever seen have page after page of numbered lists, or else endless factoids. I tried to read "Playing God in Yellowstone" a couple of weeks ago, but it was just page after page of names and dates, and quickly went onto the donate pile. Just saying.

QinReno said: