used solar panels

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doublegregg

Reaction score
a recycling place near me has used solar panels...  he said 190w for $76, 120w for $48... he said 37v. that sounds appropriate for my controller - that is, for my epever controller, which can take 12 or 24 v dc. does this all sound good for potential vehicle use? what should i look for other than just testing open circuit voltage? i believe they will take them back if they don't work... and when i last looked at these panels - the ones i looked at were pretty big and heavy.i'm just guessing......... 5' tall? um... heavy, for me.......i'm guessing... 50 pounds?

do i want poly or mono????  and i guess these would be good for home use, except for the low voltage... altho - i'm just learning this stuff... so i guess you could connect them serially to increase the voltage, and then they'd be good for the home?

ty!

The fact that your charge controller can do 12 or 24 volts has nothing to do with the solar panels. It means that it can be used on a 12 or 24 volt battery bank. You need to make sure that you have a MPPT controller to take advantage of higher voltage panels.

Personally I prefer the output of poly panels in overcast situations unless you are talking about a high efficiency panel like those from SunPower.

I only design Off grid and RV solar. On grid is a much more complicated matter.

As long as the panel fits on your roof use it. I have a 240 watt panel on my astrovan and I would get a bigger one if i could get it to fit without going over the edges. 37 volts is about normal for the large panels, thats what I get on my panel. The smaller panels like 120 watts are in the 21 volt area. Your epever is probably mppt and will work with most panels, there is usually a max voltage not to exceed, my mppt controller maxes out at 45 volts some go as high as 150 volts.