To beard or not to beard? That is the question.

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Iggy

Reaction score
I've never really grown a full beard before. Had a scraggly one in my twenties and a short goatee often, but this is a first for me. I've been growing it for 3+ months and noticed several things.
People look at me differently, often with suspicion. Women seem especially either drawn to it or repelled by it, no middle ground. One female friend was shocked and told me to shave it off now! Another promised me a kiss and said she would visit me in SoCal for a week if I cut it off (I'm almost persuaded!). But many of my friends and family really liked it and wanted to see it grow longer.
It collects smells. If I'm around someone who smokes cigarettes or pot, my beard reeks of that for hours! Same with cooking odors or if I get a bit of food in it. Ladies perfumes catch in it too. If it is more than a couple days between shampooing, it starts smelling musty. I no like!
It might affect my earnings. I do frequent short term construction jobs and often customers only want well groomed workers on their job.
I do fit in better with the homeless though. :) How do you bearded types deal with these troubles?uploadfromtaptalk1446519436672.jpg

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1446519436672.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1446519436672.jpg
    461.2 KB · Views: 40
I've worn a beard, sometimes real long, but mostly short all my adult life. At 68, I would not even consider taking up a shaving habit.
A short beard is easy to keep clean. I wash my face a time or two a day and have no trouble with odors...or not that I notice.
I think other smells get into my clothes more than beard and hair.

Margie likes my beard and would be pissed if I shaved. I wear a beard, so why would I even want to be with a woman who doesn't like it.