Solar noob with upcoming plunge

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all! I am a solar noob and trying to figure out how much I need to add to our build. I have an 18' RV. We will have the following:

*RV fridge (also runs on propane)
*2 gaming laptops for video editing - possible an iMac for editing
*camera batteries to charge
*charge cell phones 
*LED lights
*possible RV air conditioning, but I do know this is a big draw

I was thinking of going with 400W, but a system that would upgrade to 600W later. I would also like to use a pure sine inverter because of the electronics. Can you recommend specific bits needed, please? But also something somewhat easy to instal (did I mention I was a noob). 

Thanks in advance!

I'm more of an experienced noob. I have generated my own power from the sun before. I refer to that time of my life as the time I was a solar farmer. Sounds a lot better than I was homeless living on a sailboat.

Do you have the fridge already? Do you know the wattage of all the devices? Such as the laptops use 90w chargers and are used 4 hours a day each... etc.

even with 600 watts you are a long ways off from running the AC or the refrigerator. here's what you need to do, this will also help you get going with understanding all this,

1. add up all your electrical usage
2. size your battery bank according to usage.
3. size your solar to the battery bank.

try to run everything off 12v. you can get 12v adaptors for most laptops and phones.

remember every conversion has losses try to minimize conversions.
all inverters have losses of 10-30%.

it is always easier and cheaper to conserve power. rather then make more. you are now the power company.

so go to step one and make a list of electrical appliances and their power consumption. if you need help that's what we do.

highdesertranger