Seatbelts Do Save Lives!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yesican

Reaction score
<p style="margin: 0px;">Today, I witnessed the unnecessary death of a beautiful 8 year old boy.&nbsp; My heart hurts, my head is numb, and I feel somewhat confused.&nbsp; Please allow me to vent.</p><p style="margin: 0px;">&nbsp; I was headed the 30 miles home after seeing my last patient, (I'm a homecare nurse), and decided to take the Escape route which knocks off 8 miles but has no traffic to speak especially now due to the sloppy muddy conditions from snow melt.&nbsp; A big Blazer came up behind me so that when I turned onto the Escape route, I pulled to the side and slowed to let it pass.&nbsp; Thirty seconds later I see it flipping on the road, flinging stuff.&nbsp; I immediately dialed 911.&nbsp; As I pulled up to the scene, the Blazer lay on its side.&nbsp; I didn't want to go see what was inside, it couldn't be good, but the dispatcher kept encouraging me to go look.&nbsp; As I got out of my car, a young woman came to the back of the truck and was screaming and trying to pull something from beneath it.&nbsp; When I got up there, the head and arm of a young boy stuck out from beneath the Blazer.&nbsp; His eyes were lifeless, and no breaths could be seen (how could he, he had a ton of weight on his chest).&nbsp; There was no use doing CPR and I couldn't move the truck.&nbsp; I felt helpess, afraid, and so wanting to make that boy come back to life.&nbsp; All I could do was place my hand on the shoulder and back of the sobbing mom as she cradled the dead boy's head and I talked to dispatch until the first responder arrived about 6 minutes or so later.&nbsp; It was another minute or two before there were enough young men to push the vehicle up enough to scoot that lifeless boy from under the truck.</p><p style="margin: 0px;">&nbsp;&nbsp; I&nbsp;sat with mom in the