removed furnace 12v need be grounded, where?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

farmerjosh0012

Reaction score
since it was removed 2 years ago for fear fire, due to being installed originally over shag carpet I haven't had power, when not on shore power. I just placed wire nuts over the existing wire and taped them too for safety lol, im no electrician barely know the basics.

first get a multi-meter that reads voltage. then come back to ask again

Weight said:
first get a multi-meter that reads voltage. then come back to ask again
i do own a multi meter, power only too furnace wires when plugged in on shore. this is because when i un plugged cabin battery i forgot which wires where for cabin ligthts water pump etc, i can send detailed photos of remaining wires and amps for each wire only if they are getting power while plugged into the house. i do have wires hooked up from cabin too turn over onboard generator not enough gas in the tank to run it or theres a secondary pump to run it previous owner said it wouldn't run at or below a quarter tank. this is a 1977 so it's old school tech.

I'm not sure what the issue is, and not sure what information you need.

Do you need to get the 12v converter operating again? Or do you need to install house batteries and how to ground those?

Is there a white and black wire (or red and black) in the furnace compartment that are tied off? Are you trying to get the furnace re-installed?

This is a motorhome, right?

We really need a clear idea of exactly what you are working with and what you are needing.

You pulled things apart without documenting anything first.  You now want help putting it all back together the hard way.  I think you would be best if you got a professional to fix this problem.  It might be expensive, but DIY at this point might result in an electrical fire which might cost a lot more.