PLUG AND PLAY LITHIUM- Basics

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cynanne

Reaction score
What is meant by plug and play? Would a Jackery Battery be an example of this? What is the major disadvantage other than price? Do they always take a long time to charge? Sorry for the ignorance. I am just learning and it seems like some people think certain brands are superior (like bluetti, ecoflow). I am curious to know what the difference is between these brands and what are the major advantages/disadvantages.

I'm not an electronics expert at all, but I think these gizmos are the greatest thing since sliced bread. As far as I know, the only  downside to power stations is their price tag, relative to the cost of a do-it-yourself solar setup.

I have two Honda (Jackery) 290 watt power stations, and they take care of everything in my van, including laptop, lots of lights, fans, and my electric blanket. Things that you have to invert to 110v tend to use more of your watts, so use 12v stuff whenever you can, and then recharge the next day. If you're traveling, just plug them in to your cigarette lighters while you drive, and if you're parked somewhere you can use some portable solar panels to charge them back up. I have a 100w folding panel and a 60w folding panel and they deliver plenty of recharge power on a nice day. 

As far as brand names go, I think all the ones you've mentioned are equally good, so you shop and compare, as they say. One of my solar panels, the 100w one, is a no-name Chinese super low price Jackery clone and it works just fine.

Johnny

I've currently got an Inergy Kodiak as well as many of the smaller battery packs around 100 Watt Hours, and a lot of technical knowledge