Overpaneling

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spicyguy

Reaction score
I have a jackery 500 that I have just been charging off the wall where I can findfpower but I'm looking on getting a solar panel.  It has a pwm controller and is current limited at 3.5 amps and can accept voltages up to 30
 The recommended panel is 100 watts but I have heard about others overpaneling these with up to 300 watts. I'm curious how this works or if it would be an effective way to boost charging times during winter. Thanks for any help. I'm a noob with this stuff.

Yes the jackery can be overpaneled. 

How to know if your small solar generator (jackery) can be over paneled:
If you can connect the solar input of your solar generator to a cigarette lighter (the jackery comes with a cable to do this), you can safely overpanel it with solar panels. 

Technical reason: The jackery has current limiting. It is designed to be connected to an "amp source". This means you can connect multiple panels, and the current limit will not be exceeded. 

How to safely overpanel:
Just make sure that the input voltage of the jackery is not exceeded, so put your panels into parallel, not in series. If you have 2x 100w solar panels in parallel (use a mc4 branch adapter), you will be set. 

I made a little tutorial with a diagram here: https://www.mobile-solarpower.com/ultra-portable-systems.html

Only problem with overpaneling is that the jackery will still take a long time to charge. The amp limit is pretty bad on those. Unfortunately.

Thanks for the response Will and thanks for the link to your site. I watched some of your videos as well which are very helpful. So just thinking aloud....