Newbie here

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oneleggedcowboy

Reaction score
Hello all my name is Bill and I am a modified full timer. I have a Ford pickup with slide in camper from the seventies. It has everything even a 5000 btu window ac unit. I have not really boondocked since my college days in a tent. Been a canpground camper on weekends. I will not be letting my home etc go because its mine, no mortgages etc. So for $300 a year insurance, less than a $100 in taxes, I am disabled and get a cut rate in NC, and a basic $15 or less per month utilities I have a warm, dry, home base. But I want to hit the road for 3-6 month stretched and then take a break here and then head out again to see more of the western and northern New England area. This site and forum is a really great resource! Thank you Bob and members for making.it so!

Hiya Bill!!

Welcome to the forum!

This is a great place, and there's alot of very knowledgable folks on here.

We plan on doing an extensive trip of the New England states next fall (when the colours are in full bloom.)
There's just so much to see back there! Lotsa of great historical places like Gettysburg, the beauty of New Hampshire and the Adirondacks, of course we've gotta check out NYC, and plan to spend several days at the Smithsonian.

How-d from Oregon!!

Hi Bill, what part of NC? I know the Asheville area and surrounding forests pretty thoroughly now, and my inessential stuff is in my Mom's basement in Winston-Salem. I can understand wanting to see other parts of the country but there's a lot of good stuff in Western NC in the summer. Great temperature profile up there, usually. If it gets too hot in Asheville, go into any National Forest halfway up the mountain, find a creek. Tree cover will be great, temperatures will be fine, won't matter how much the rest of the state is boiling over.