New power, for new van, for weekender

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbirch333

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Bob, avid hiker and rock climber, and building a van for me and fiance and 2 dogs.  I'm a professional HVAC tech and plumber and have done little electrical so I do have technical skills.  We usually camp 1 night a week on the weekend and once a month we get out for 2 nights.  I want to run a 12v vent fan for mostly when I'm cooking, a couple LED lights, and charge a laptop and cell phone.  I  usually drive 2-5 hours to our destination.

Originally I was thinking of a solar system, but now I don't think I really need the solar being that I will be parked at my home charging 5 days a week.  So I've spent a few days reading lots of options and now I'm confused.  With trying to keep the system as simple as possible here was my idea.

I want to use an AGM battery, that I want to put behind the driver chair in a cabinet.  This is a temporary build and I don't mind working the battery and replacing within the year, so I was thinking of using a Universal UB121000-45978 12v 100AH Deep Cycle AGM Battery 12V 24V 48V off Amazon

Then I want to charge the battery during the week at my house using a 110v charger.  I'm not sure exactly what to look for on this, I was looking at black and Decker and Schumacher smart chargers but really don't know.

While driving I read of running the battery of the alternator with a solenoid.  But again not sure what to use for the charger and can I use the same charger for the van and the home.  And to simplify can I use one of those 12v cigarette lighter to 110v inverters, to then plug in my 110v charger to charge the battery.

Thanks for reading the long post and your ideas