Need help with upgrading to lithium battery to install a 1500 watt inverter

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Golden4U

Reaction score
Hi I am new to the form. 

I have a small van that already has items installed. It currently has a 500 watt pure sine inverter, VMAX 100AH AGM battery, Epever Tracer 30A MPPT, 200 watts of solar and uses a battery doctor 100amp isolator that charges from the van battery when running the van and from the roof solar panels. 

I wanted to upgrade to a 1500 watt inverter. The inverter is currently 500 watts. It connects to a small 6 panel fuse box and the battery is also connect to the fuse box. If I go up to a 1500 watt inverter, can it still be connected to a 6 panel fuse box or do I need to connect it directly to the battery? The current invertor is about 10inchs of wire to the fuse box and the battery is about 3ft of wire from the fuse box. 

I am also limited on space for the battery. I found that VMAX makes a 100AH lithium battery the same size as the current AGM. So I can get it to fit. From what I read, I think I cannot use the Battery Doctor 100AMP isolator because it’s not compatible with lithium. Does that sound correct? Is there a isolator that you could recommend for me?

I know I need to reprogram the Epever MPPT for the lithium battery. I have the Bluetooth box from Epever and their phone app. I saw on Battle Born blogs on how to reprogram a Epever MPPT for lithium.

I would love to use the Battle Born battery but it will not fit. 

Any recommendations would be great full. Thank you.