Looking for some input

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LookinUp

Reaction score
I'm just getting started with my 2012 Chevy Express 1500 cargo van. No windows in cargo area except rear. I've read a good deal here on the forums but still have questions. I don't want to overthink this too much, but don't want to run into unforeseen problems later on. For the walls and ceiling, the friend that's helping me suggested we go, in order from van skin in, pink rigid foam insulation, plastic sheeting (vapor barrier) and then my choice of plywood paneling.  I'm reading a lot about using 1/2"polyiso rather than the rigid foam board. Why is it favored? Is the plastic sheeting a viable barrier?
We do have plans to use polyiso under the plywood on the floor albeit thicker. I plan to try to stay within moderate temps, but as weather's unpredictable, I'm sure there will be times that it will be cooler or warmer than desired. I know I can dress warmer/cooler and I do have two fantastic fan vents already installed.Thanks in advance!
If I missed a post regarding the above feel free to redirect me.

I'm just wrapping up on my 2nd conversion, here are my thoughts:

1- Rigid foam board. I've used this a lot and like it. It's just a little behind polyiso in terms of R-value per inch, but also cheaper. I use it everywhere but the ceiling, and that's where I use Polyiso. The reason for this is that polyiso stands up to high temperature much much better than EPS foam board, which becomes very very soft at around 160 degrees F - a temperature that can be approachable on the roof under the right conditions (hot, sunny climate, dark colored roof, etc). If I had to guess, the hottest I've seen on the ceiling of either van may have only been about 120 degrees, but I'm not in a very hot climate and I have a white roof with solar.