Insulation in Central California

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GeorgiePorgie

Reaction score
I'm a real newbie with little mechanical knowledge or skill and I am trying to figure out what kind of (inexpensive) van I should buy and what I need to do to make it a comfortable full-time home. I do not intend to pay for camping, and probably will not have many chances to charge the batteries from an electrical outlet. I will ask about the electrical system I should use on another thread, but right now, I am wondering about whether I need to insulate a van for heat if I will mostly be wintering in Central California.
I think I saw on one of Bob's videos where he said not to bother in Florida or Hawaii, but it gets somewhat chilly here in Winter. I don't intend to use a heater more than I have to, but would like to use a small one to warm up the van a little when it is really cold or right before bedtime. I really want to avoid insulation if I can (due to probably having to pay someone to do it for me), but would I be better off investing the time and money and just putting it in?

We need an overall picture. What are the temp's in the summer where you might be? There is a general consensus among experienced vanners not to insulate unless your winters are very very cold. If you are following the *nice weather* year round, don't insulate to the extent of inclement weather.

Thanks for the info. At this point, I am planning to travel in the summer and winter in California - probably the Central California region. However, if I can figure out how to support myself on the road, that could change. I have not been living in the USA for a long time, so really have no ties to anywhere or anybody. However, for the purposes of building the van, living in California in the winter in pretty likely.