Induction cooktop and solar

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cinj

Reaction score
I've seen Lee on a YouTube video recently and noticed he had an induction cooktop. Does anyone use one and what kind of solar setup would one need to power that without running batteries down too low? Thanks for feedback.

I’ve been using an induction cooktop full time for a couple years. Clean, quiet and super efficient. They are 1800W, but can start and run at low settings. I actually used a 1200W inverter with mine.

Like any AC appliance, they require some investment in battery and electrical system. A simple meal might use 20-30Ah if stored power.

They are a load. You can run it just off of batteries. Just off of solar panel output when the sun shines or a mixture of both.

They are a load with a draw like a microwave. I have seen them range between 800 and 1800 watts. I do believe the induction cooker will cycle once temperature is reached. Some use a reduced wattage at lower settings.

My 1185 watt system with 435 watts tracking the sun can produce pretty close to 1000 watts at peak. I could run the smallest induction cookers during peak hours of the day. Any other time of the day or with a more power hungry plate the best I can do is have the solar reduce the take from the battery and replace it later. That is how most people run their microwaves. High draw for short periods.

So you are talking more than 2000 watts of solar to run a 1800 watt load at peak output. So it is only practical for the largest of RV's.