Idea for maxx/fantastic fan to be integrated with vent window of Caravan.. crazy?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Catina

Reaction score
I just bought a 2007 Caravan and it has two side window in the back that pivot/vent.  I'm new to all of this, but haven't seen this "crazy" idea that I'm pondering.... so I apologize if it has already been covered or debunked.  I thought I saw a few people mention that a fan could be "stealth" if somehow integrated with a sunroof.  So I thought... well aren't the back venting windows kind of like a sideways sunroof???  So my crazy idea is to somehow build a 3 sided "box" that will perfectly cover one of those back/side windows and install a maxx/fantastic fan into the box.  Then whenever I want to use the fan, I simply open the vent window.  From the outside, no one would see the fan and I would have the airflow.  Can anyone tell me if this would work or not work.... or if to make it work there are other ideas I should consider?

Sounds like it could be made to work, but

would cut into interior space

noise less than perfect stealth.

A set of quiet computer fans exhausting out the forward floor, drawing air in from that vented window may be more difficult

need to screen and be sealable

but overcome those two con's.

Thanks!  To be honest, I've never seen or heard how loud one of these fans can be... I didn't realize they could be noisy!  If anyone knows if one brand/type is more quiet than others, that would be greatly appreciated info!

Anytime you open windows or vents you lose stealth, I didn't like opening my side/rear windows on my astrovan for that reason. I like 100 percent stealth 100 percent of the time.