Greetings from a Newbie

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kevin Carney

Reaction score
Hi All - I'm new to the topic of nomadic living. You know how the internet works, you start looking for a place to buy a good pair of boots for winter and you end up watching interviews on Youtube with retired professional wrestlers. One night I was searching online for places to do dispersed tent camping in the Illinois/Iowa area, which led to information on stealth camping, which led to information on stealth van living, which led to Bob's channel and his videos.

I'll be retiring in a few years. I'd love to arrange my life so that I spend summers someplace cool and winters someplace warm. Maintaining a condo, apartment, or some such dwelling in two places is financially out of the question. But living as a semi-nomad for half the year seems doable. One way or the other I'll be keeping a vehicle on the road. Why not make it a vehicle that does double duty? Actually, the idea of doing it full time is intriguing. But I have a significant other whose wishes need to be considered, and he has a definite preference for living in a building. So, perhaps a compromise ...

In any case, I'll be spending time reading threads, learning what I need to know, and trying to get a realistic picture of this lifestyle. The first part of the adventure will be learning. After that, we'll see. I don't need to make my mind up this week.

Regards,
Kevin Carney

Welcome Kevin to the CRVL forums! To help you learn the ins and outs of these forums, this "Tips & Tricks" post lists some helpful information to get you started. We look forward to hearing more from you. highdesertranger

Hi Kevin and welcome. You come across as a funny and thoughtful person. I hope you have a great time and have interesting experiences. Best of luck!