Empty Nester’s Dream Coming True

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

troliver76

Reaction score
Hello! I’ve never been a part of a forum, but after following Bob on and off for a couple of years I decided to become an official member of Cheap RV Living.

I’ll try to make our story short. Hubby and I have been dreaming about escaping traditional life since we met 5 years ago. Only problem then was that I still had two kiddos at home and was teaching high school (not even close to retirement). Hubby is an over the road trucker, so he could live pretty much anywhere he could get a job. We started out binge watching YouTube videos about TinyHomes, then graduated to RV’s, before finally deciding to invest in a van and move to Oregon from Kansas City sometime by the time we were at retirement age. Well...a week after my youngest graduated from high school my life took an unexpected happy turn. While on the road, hubby called to say an opening in Oregon became available in his company. Knowing he wouldn’t be granted the transfer, I called his bluff and told his to go ahead and apply. Two days later he called to say it was granted and that he would start work in his new location in three weeks!! 

I spent the rest of the summer selling 90% of our belongings, dropped babygirl off to college in August, then packed up the car with what was left two days later to leave everything I’ve ever known and start my new life with my hubby in Oregon.