Connecting batteries in parallel long distance

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whodunit

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm working on a conversion van that already had a house battery under the hood that's currently only charged by the alternator. This is my first time working on any type of vehicle electrical system. My plan is to add solar and, with it, another battery or two. There's a few parts to my dilemma. 1st is that I'm interested in taking advantage of the space under the hood to store one of my batteries but I wonder if it's practical to have such long wires going from the battery under the hood to another battery behind the drivers seat where I'd plan on placing the second battery. Is this a bad idea? If not then I'd assume I'd need some extremely thick gauge wire? 

The 2nd part of the question is that I just got a great deal on a 79Ah deep cycle AGM battery and I have a chance of scoring 2 more cheap 75Ah deep cycle AGM batteries but I have read people strictly say to not combine different Ah capacity batteries in parallel. The difference doesnt seem significant enough to me but maybe people here could chime in with their opinions?

If it helps at all I'm planning on putting two 100w panels on the roof and the only things I'm powering are some LED lights, some fans, water pump, and an old norcold top loading compressor fridge. I'm not sure if three batteries is overkill for that. I'm kind of just seeking some advice from someone who knows more about these things than me. Thanks so much for reading this far! Love the forum!

Welcome whodunit to the CRVL forums! To help you learn the ins and outs of these forums, this "Tips, Tricks and Rules" post lists some helpful information to get you started.