Choosing a Van?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

M2Travels

Reaction score
I am in the process of changing my 2016 Tahoe for a van. The Tahoe is paid for so I am able to spend as much as I can sell the Tahoe for on a van but would rather spend less if possible.  I have looked at used Sprinter Vans, Ford Transit Vans, Nissan NV and Chevy Express Vans.  Since I full time and will have to convert the van while on the road my plan is to buy something that has tow capabilities and continue to live in my 2185 Lance TT until the van is converted.  At that point I want to sell my TT and buy a small cargo trailer to pull behind the van for extra cargo capacity. I am a photographer who mostly  travels alone  and can be in very remote places so reliability is critical in my decision.  I was leading towards the Ford Transit ecoboost van with a 3.73 (for towing) but the recalls and user complaints about breakdowns on all Transit Vans is concerning.   Next up is the Sprinter Vans but the ability to service them in remote locations is a big concern.   The NV and Chevy are next.  My concern with the NV is its size.   So last on my list is a used newer model Chevy Express Extended body van and add a high top.  Which van would you choose in my situation? 

Maria

From what I can tell, your tow weight needs for the Lance/cargo trailer will determine not only which van brands/models are in the mix, but which drivetrain you need.

If it was me, I would determine my max towing and payload needs, then start on the mfg. websites for specs. That should help you refine your possibilities and from there you can narrow down based on other factors that matter to you most (e.g., reliability, availability, price, features, space, etc.).

Unfortunately, there is no "perfect" choice, since we all have different needs.