carpentry work is there a demand?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nanak

Reaction score
Hello out there! My husband and I are planning on living the nomad life. We are a few years shy from retirement. My husband is a carpenter by trade and we are wanting to know if there is a demand for it on the road. Any information would be appreciated.

Welcome to the CRVL forums Nanak! Sorry, I don't have any information on carpentry jobs. Hopefully, someone else will more knowledge chime in.

To help you learn the ins and outs of these forums, this "Tips, Tricks and Rules" post lists some helpful information to get you started. We look forward to hearing more from you.

YES!

I am NOT a carpenter and did one small job of making a platform bed and actually declined another job, but she was able to arrange the job with another camper here.

If your husband has the tools for small jobs and willing to work with individuals to build beds, install paneling and build cabinetry, he will be able to work if he wants to. 

I have heard that some of these 'nomad carpenters' are getting paid around $30-50 cash per hour or they get paid by the job.

it is pretty easy to find carpentry work on the road, use craigslist to advertise your business. But you can also use it to find short term jobs.

In addition carpentry is one of the skills that the short term labor employment companies market. Quite a few of those companies have local offices in many areas of the country. So if your husband submitted his resume and was willing to travel he very well could have work lined up in advance in places you would like to travel to. This type of temp labor work via a national employment agency is done by a number of nomadics such as traveling nurses, electricians, plumbers, computer and cell technology and other skilled labor trades. Good help is hard to find!