Caravan Stow and Go seat removal??

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparrow

Reaction score
Howdy! I'm just getting started here at the CRVL forums so I hope I'm posting this question in the right area : ) 

I have a 2006 Doge Caravan with Stow and Go seating. Before I begin the process of turning this into a camper van I would like to remove the back seat as well as one of the middle seats. Is this advisable? 

The advantage to taking the seats out is the additional storage it would provide, as well as to lighten my load. I've scoured Youtube but came up empty...If there is anyone out here who knows anything about how to do this and could share that would be really helpful!! Thank you 

How do you do it? With wrenches and maybe screwdrivers. Look closely at the seats, see what's holding them in place, then unbolt it. On the assembly line those seats were installed in something like five seconds, so it's not like the van was built around them.

Is it advisable? I say it's going to be YOUR home. Do what you want with it. Don't worry about some future buyer who doesn't exist yet.

If they're in good shape likely worth selling. Don't pay to store them.

Go to a shop that does auto upholstery they can show you how.  The exhaust system runs very close to those bins on the right side I believe so be mindful if there is heat effecting whatever you put in there.

MrNoodly said:
How do you do it? With wrenches and maybe screwdrivers. Look closely at the seats, see what's holding them in place, then unbolt it. On the assembly line those seats were installed in something like five seconds, so it's not like the van was built around them.

Is it advisable? I say it's going to be YOUR home. Do what you want with it. Don't worry about some future buyer who doesn't exist yet.