Best states for "Home Address" for car registration, driver's license, mailing address, low taxes, and remote working online & taxes?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Off-Topic:
We do this for a living.
We have a half-century of experience doing the opposite of everything in your post.

Our paths may be similar. You were investing in real estate during the double digit interest rate 80s. As a youth, I began reading about real estate, and the books were written during that period.

I read the book "Your Money Or Your Life" that started the FIRE movement when I was in high school. My first job was being the property manager of the building I was living in when I was in college. I bought my first rental property shortly after I graduated. Sometime in my late 20s, I was fired due to poor performance and decided not to get another job. I've lived solely off my rental income ever since.

I don't think we disagree about the economics of real estate (though we probably hold different political views). I do not believe that home prices (in general/aggregate) are going to drop significantly. Over the long run, inflation alone makes the nominal price of houses increase and the time value of money means an amortizing mortgage is being paid back with cheaper dollars.

Housing affordability is only a metric. A better measure is the result, homeownership rates. This varies over time, the biggest predictors are ethnicity and geography.
https://fredblog.stlouisfed.org/202..._term=related_resources&utm_campaign=fredblog