Anyone go with no built-in electricity?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michael11

Reaction score
I don't have my van yet but am operating out of a Toyota Highlander and a 10 person tent. Works for now but I'm planning for the future (2 years until I can retire and nomad full-time).

I'm not really technically minded and don't really trust myself to install solar (and can't pay for it to be installed by someone else). So I'm looking into the idea of having minimal electric usage in my permanent van nomad setup. Am already using a Jackery that I charge at home for road trips (plus the vehicle charging cord when driving) and am saving for a portable solar panel to charge it as well. That is more than enough to keep my phone and tablet charged for as long as I'm away. I just am not a heavy user of electricity. I could be persuaded to have a shore power plug installed just in case I stop at a campground or RV park (or visiting someone's home) where shore power is an option.

Currently I operate with 2 super-insulated coolers (one for food and a smaller one for beverages) and a propane two-burner stove for cooking. No refrigerator or electric stove in my future. I could possibly look into LED interior lights for the minimal power draw but right now I'm more than happy with using candle lanterns and going to sleep fairly early (living more by the sun than using electricity).

My question is are there any folks out there doing minimal or no electricity and what recommendations do you have? What should I be aware of as I move forward with this plan? Thanks in advance for any and all advice (even advice that warns me about being too minimal).