2019 RTR (Best time for newbie to attend? Beginning, middle, end?)

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone:  First time poster and aspiring RTR'er here.

If I have just 3-4 days to come to the 2019 RTR, I'm wondering which days you would recommend, based on my interests below?  I'm going to try and buy plane tickets the next time I see a sale, and perhaps rent an SUV for sleeping in and bring a tent with me. As of now, the expected RTR dates are Jan 9 - Jan 20.

I'm mostly interested in learning about (1) how to set up a Prius or other car for intermittent long trips, (2) seeing the insides of lots of rigs (mostly cars, perhaps), and also (3) getting to experience some of the most informative/helpful/memorable/fun/social/etc parts of the RTR. I'm pretty new to camping and traveling/sleeping in a vehicle.

If I want to see inside many people's cars for ideas, is it best to wait until the Open House(s)?  If so, around which day(s) does that usually happen?

I saw someone mention that parking spots close-in fill up quickly, so does that mean it can be good to get there on or near the 9th?  I just have 3-4 days, total, to be there.

Any other considerations I should be aware of, in terms of when I aim to arrive?

The schedule hasn't been set, yet. When it is a calendar of events will be posted.

The schedule is subject to change, and does, frequently.

The gathering is pretty liquid in terms of parking. People and their vehicles come and go, constantly.

Not much help, eh?

Also, most of the people I met at the last two RTR's were happy to show off their setups if I asked politely.

Put a post up in the cars forum or pm a few of the posters?

cyndi said:
Ha, Cyndi!  I appreciate this info.  Good to know re the fluidity schedule and parking-wise. 

Do you know when the most people are there?  Is that at the beginning?