Van Anaylis Paralysis

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fat Ray

Reaction score
I'm suffering from analysis paralysis over choosing a van.  This thread is going to be long.... sorry everybody...

A little about me:  

-The van will be occupied by both my wife and I.  I know Bob says that's a no-no but my wife and I work well together
- We plan to mostly spend time on BLM land but I would guess 20-30% of the time we may need stealth in a city.
- We have a pretty good amount of money to spend, maybe $50K-$60 for the entire rig?
- We will have a good income stream on the road
- I'm a mechanical engineer by trade with heavy hands on experience
- I will build out the van.  I feel like I need a van to get away (a little bit) from everybody else.  
- For sure want a queen width bed, I'm 5' 10" and my wife is 5'5" or so
-I pretty much have things like solar, heat, AC set in my mind

OK, here we go.  This is my thinking so far with regards to specific vans.  Let me know if I'm off-base on any of this

Promaster- Seems to be a good van for the price except it's a unibody Fiat.  When I sit in one I feel like the steering wheel is too low or... I don't know it feels weird

Sprinter- Can't even imagine how much it costs to maintain and repair.  Expensive to buy.  Does come in 4WD though.....

Transit- Great interior space, maybe can put the bed width-wise if I cut down on insulation at head and foot?  Going to be offered in AWD in 2020.  Mentioned it to Bob Wells and he remarked... "well I'm a Chevy guy" which might be a nice way of saying it's a bad choice?  Unibody construction on the downside.