Sub Floor Attachment?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SunDance57

Reaction score
Hi All,

Noob here. I am installing 0.5 in CDX in 2006 Ford E 150. Watched Bobs video of it and followed it. My question; how do you attach the sub floor to the van? That was not in the video. I tried spray adhesive from another video, did not seem to work very well. Funny aside here, the 3 M adhesive Bob and others recommended is banned in CA but all the killer bud you want is perfectly fine. Lol. Funny priorities here. Let's not get started on that.   :cool:

Anyway, should I just screw it in with self tapping screws? From the top OK? Do I need to even attach it? I am going to put linoleum on it. It is raining like heck here in Humboldt and the sub floor swelled at bit (1/8in). It still fits, but tight.

Thanks!

Michael

it really depends on how well it 'fits' I guess but be very careful when screwing anything to the floor to be sure you dont hit wires or hoses and such underneath. it can be tricky sometimes. you could use spots of liquid nails every foot or so, not too much that it might be impossible to remove the floor if ever needed (that stuff is remarkably strong) just clean the metal with alcohol wipes or something where you put it first.

Just a thought, look into SikaFlex 252 and scuff metal with sand paper using their primer before applying - water resistant and very strong when cured. It will bond well and is somewhat flexible when cured so it compensates for some expansion. You might be able to get it at Home Depot or Amazon.

You didn't say whether it is a window van or cargo van.  If it's a van that has had seats in it you could use some of the threaded holes the seats were bolted to the floor with.

I've lost track of the number of vans I've laid floor in since 1975 and I have NEVER screwed or glued the plywood to the metal floor.. I repeat NEVER.