Refrigerate after Opening... Lies?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What have you found stays well at room temp?

• Total voters

Redbearded

Reaction score
I've found that for many products there is a requirement for refrigeration after opening, and a lot of them are just trying to cover the manufacturers legally. Which ones have you found that fall into that category?

I've seen that most high acid foods/sauces generally will be fine, though you will not get as good of a shelf life once opened (i.e. don't open something and let it sit for a few years or so and expect it to be as good as if you had refrigerated it...) This is all about managing risks as at some level and with inappropriate care can be dangerous. Though with all the food recalls these days that may not really be an issue, lol.

*disclaimer: I'm not a food scientist, all advice is used at your own risk!

Much depends on the ambient temperature of the space. Some things are OK if it is cool but will not Ok during warm weather.

yea it is more when opened they are subject to 'things that grow' and cold temps stop some growth so......whatever floats your boat. I keep things cold cause that is me :) for most products that 'seem to need it' but everyone do what works for ya'll

^ Yes, product temperature for sure.
Seems like any cantainerd item that is not consumed completely begins to grow a wonderful chemical cocktail of mold if I dare recap and attempt to put it back on the shelf for later use.
The next thing is cross contamination. Using the same knife for mayo after cutting anything contaminates what's in the jar. And that includes that time honored practice of licking the blade. :)

yea licking and re-using.....we humans are worse then animal's mouth they say :)