Question about Portable Solar Panels

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
oops.... here's a link<br><br><br><br>there are a bunch of different types, it seems. this idea caught my eye...

<p>I couldn't find a price for this one on their site, but Bob Wells sells a 90-watt solar panel easy-setup that comes in a suitcase for $400 (other solar setups are on this page too):&nbsp;</p><p>http://cheaprvlivingblog.com/bobs-cheap-solar-living-store/<br><br>(Edited to add: I see now that the price is $695 for the panels you posted.)</p>

Personally, I have no experience with these. However, I have a good friend who fulltimes and has the ones like Bob sells. We have camped together and I watch her take them out (45#), set them up, move them around to take advantage of different sun positions, the length of the electrical cords limits where she can place them, and then she has to find a place in the van to store them. She says they're a PITA, but she likes parking in shade, which is why she chose these. She also said if she had it to do over again, she would find another option.

Like everything, there is an upside and a downside.

Thanks for your thoughts. I'm not sure which way I'll go. I just started my conversion, so I'm looking into all sorts of different options for things. These looked like a great idea, but it's true what you say about the downside....

I just spent 30 minutes writing a reply and had a boo-boo with the electric brain.&nbsp; I will spend sometime later tonight doing this on word, saving it the copy and paste.&nbsp; It was/will be very informative on this subject and will help a lot of you out and also raise some question I am sure.&nbsp; Till midnightish EST.