Prius AC in a Van, and other ideas

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vanvanvanvan123

Reaction score
I had asked is the Prius air conditioning system ( heat and cool ) the ONLY System that can feasibly operate as one sleeps?
Why can't this battery system be incorporated into a Van?

The Prius has three big strikes aganst it, aside from price
-Curtains at night, to me are a dead giveaway for security, neighbors, thieves, cops to annoy you or worse!
-insufficient personal space aka room, if like me, you spend a lot of time in your room.
-every noise both outside car and INSIDE ( think about snoring at 300AM ) car are audible.. aka no potential for partial sound proofing.

Soundproofing and Extra Insulation go hand in hand with my goal for Soundproofing ( I would like to play an instrument in van- did I mention, I play music for a living! )
I cannot tolerate 80 degrees in a van even 75 is uncomfortable-
Therefore my idea of THICK ilayers of insulation will preserve the low and high temps- depending on winter or summer - while also provide wonderful relief from noise pollution. I like the sound of silence!
One could park in a noisy area and not be too disturbed if insulation was sealed and thick.
Problem then is O2 and CO2. CO2 is heavier than air.. which suggests I be higher up in the van when sleeping or relaxing in the van.
Any thoughts on condensation, death by lack of O2 while sleeping, and the possibility of the Prius batteries thermostatic temp control being transferred to a van?

Then there is question of cargo van extended or not extended.

Thanks for reading my novel ideas, and "novel" too!