issues with fiberglass hightops?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darkmattter

Reaction score
I'm just getting into this van thing and have two options available to me and I'm still undecided, though admittedly leaning to the chevy.

2014 Promaster: already has a basic build with a folding bed ([font=Tahoma, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif]though its too high)[/font], "garage" under the bed, battery, led interior lights with switches, 2 dc outlets, isolator, roadshower, DC fridge, cracked windshield, somewhat worn tires, not inspected, 170k kilometers, $24k

2008 Chevy 2500 Hightop: not built, some insulation but probably has to be ripped out if its fibreglass, already inspected, 150k kilomoters, $15k

So for $10,000 more I get a promaster long wheel base extended that's somewhat built out. I like the chevy better because its not bad its 5'9 across and 10'9 long for living space and it's more stealth and maneuverable which is important to me. I also don't mind building it out myself because I'll have to learn eventually. 

My biggest concern is the high top. It's somewhat curved, I wonder if I should even cut a hole in it for fans? I also think that any solar I put up will need additional support as I've seen other topics talk about supporting it on the metal frame and not the high top. Any other issues with the hightops?

You can easily cut holes in it and secure brackets for solar or Velcro flexi panels to a Fibreglass roof.

Is the high top really tall enough for you? Personally I would go with the Chevy probably will be cheaper in the long run as well. Another plus is you can tow with it so if you need more space later you have options.

Welcome to the CRVL forums darkmatter! It's okay to include links to the vans that you are considering. Sometimes it helps to have more eyes to spot problems that you may not notice.