Insulating a Fiberine High Top: DIY or let Fiberine do it?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JJPDX

Reaction score
Hello, looking to add a 24in high top to my Chevy Express 3500 Extended.  There are several options to choose from, see below, but the one I'd like some feedback on is the installed insulation. 

Does anyone have experience with the insulation as installed in a high top by fiberine?   I am a complete noobie and would by interested in it being done with all at installation.  But if its generally insuffieceint or low quality, then I'll be back in a few mionths with lots more questions as I do it myself!!

Thank you, jj

List of other options for high top from Fiberine:

Camper Top Options

Wood Reinforcement Strips

Foam Insulation-Tops with Liner Only

Gray Primer Gel Coat Exterior

Standard White Gel Coat Exterior

Gray Primer Gel Coat Interior

White Gel Coat Liner Finish

Inside 2-12V Wire Set-Tops with Liner Only

Trim Kit for Standard Flange Tops

Hey -- I just installed one of their high tops myself last weekend (cut the hole & added on top, sealed, bolted down).

I think installing insulation will be as simple as cutting out a template of rigid polyiso pieces (maybe 2 or 4 pieces) and then pushing them up in place.
Should stick right in place if cut to the right size, or maybe use a little velcro. 

It should cost like $50 and take about 10 minutes to DIY insulation
Personally I'd call them to make sure by buying I wouldn't be risking getting something unnecessary or potentially losing valuable space to too much/little R value

And dont forget to leave a cut a hole for the fan! 

For anyone else considering a fiberine top:

Since buying the top a month ago I've seen some DIY hightops where they built out a wooden/metal and plywood. One looked pretty cool -- like a log cabin growing out of the top of the van.