I will officiate at your wedding/handfasting-gratis

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WalkaboutTed

Reaction score
I recently had to find a wedding officiant on short notice for a simple wedding with only the witnesses. I was able to find someone, but it was irritating that the ceremony could only be performed by a minister or judge. That was a pain and I said to myself, "Self, there has to be an easier way!". 

So, I went online and for free, I am now a minister (yes, my family is laughing at this nice Jewish girl) with the Universal Life Church. I just had to buy the el cheapo package of the "Credentials of Ministry". I like happy lifestyle events. When I worked as an RN in Labor & Delivery years ago, I would warn my patients that sometimes (if the birth was easy and touching) I might shed a tear or two. 

So, if you find yourself in the area where I'm wandering, and you want to get married, I'm your officiant. My only conditions are that the ceremony is non-Christian and non-Pagan. And you need to shlep your license back to the courthouse where it needs to be recorded.  Just PM me to find out where I may be and when.  Right now I'm in NM and will be heading to AZ and  SoCal in the next few weeks.  Love has no limits.
Ted

Hi Ted, if I remember right, it's most likely your responsibility(as the officiant) to turn the completed marriage license into the county. Obviously laws are different every where, but you might want to double check this one. Best of luck!

Hey Wabbit, yes, generally the officiant is supposed to bring the completed license to get recorded. Not in New Mexico, though. But, if the newly married couple wants/needs me to do that, they need to drive me to the courthouse (wherever that may be) and buy Hubby and me lunch or dinner. My van has crappy mpg. For a free officiant, that's not unreasonable.
Ted