I will be your slave ( for a day)

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wagoneer

Reaction score
If you help me learn about cooking Indian/Pakastani style curry. I will bring on the ingredients, spices and such. I have a basic knowledge.

Hey Wagoneer-

Fresh is the main key.  Well if you want really good curry.  Most curry powder has been sitting somewhere on a shelf in a jar, in a box for too long.  They lose a lot of the oils (which means flavor) while they sit there.

I started learning about Indian cooking some years ago but recently, over the last year, have really intensified my efforts.  When I make any kind of curry I start with the spice seeds, roast em, and then grind them in a pestle.  HUGE difference in taste.  I want to try and make the curry pastes but it's just too hard to find some of the ingredients here in the states - at least where I am currently.  An idea of the harder to find things - 
  lemongrass, galangal, lime leaves.  I can find them fresh online but do they ever cost a fortune.

When I get down there I will be happy to teach you what I know so far if your still around.  

Hey thanks Geo I will bring what spices I have SF has a large amount of small Indian/Afgani supply stores. It's just an interest I have and worthy of pursuit. I am hip to roasting and grinding seeds but can always use a point or two.

Most welcome.

Wont make it until the end of January though - hope that works for you. 

Have you got a particular recipe your interested in making?  Do your use a mortar and pestle or one of those mini blenders to do your spices?

Best place I have found for the odd Indian spices is Jet.com.   Dont really know why they carry so many Indian foods and spices they carry but sure am glad they do.  I have found them to be cheaper than most other places.