how do I safely cook inside the van with butane stove

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brianmonkey

Reaction score
My apologies if this seems like an amature question. But I am new to the vanlife still. I have succesfully survived using a Wave 3 heater in the van but I have not cooked in it yet. With all of the warnings I want to ask the community of fellow van dwellers how to safely cook inside the van. If I were not in a city I would probably just swing open a door or something. But stealthy that would not be. 
At present I don't have a roof vent but I do have windows. My main concern is carbon monoxide poisoning. So I am looking for some validation that it is safe if I have a few windows open. 
Thank you for your help!
brian

As always when using an open flame;
- make sure there is plenty of oxygen in the room = crack open the windows
- make sure that there is a suitable clearance around the heat source, so nothing close by over heats and catches fire 

And if you can: 
- have a fire extinguisher close by
- install a CO ( carbon monoxide) detector

Google summarizes butane use like this:
"When oxygen is plentiful, butane burns to form carbon dioxide and water vapor; when oxygen is limited, carbon (soot) or carbon monoxide may also be formed."

So if your stove starts producing sod, then the windows are not open enough.

One way to limit heat radiation (and thus shorten the needed clearance) is to use a metal heat shield. You know one of those shields that is also a windbreaker, if the cooker is used outside.   
Metal as a shroud to the back and sides, is an effective way to minimize the distance of clearance needed.

As heat rises, you should also consider how hot it gets above the stove. And mainly keep anything flammable out of the way above the stove.