Generator Info Needed Please

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happyhippymom

Reaction score
I have a 26' bumper pull camper that me and my family will be living in full time here soon, and hope to boondock on and off. We have two house batteries, recharged with a 100watt solar panel. We are looking at purchasing a generator as well for special occasions when more power is needed. TV, AC, microwave, plugging in devices, ect. from time to time. I am new to all related info and systems and would appreciate any advice. Brands? Size? ect? Thank you much.

The inverter generators are popular for their quietness. There are many knockoffs that are cheaper, however, I put a lot of faith in the Honda/Yamaha. With that said I'm using a cheaper Ryobi inverter generator that I got a good deal on. As for watts in the neighborhood of 1500-2000+ watts should be good enough.

happyhippymom said:
I have a 26' bumper pull camper that me and my family will be living in full time here soon, and hope to boondock on and off. We have two house batteries, recharged with a 100watt solar panel. We are looking at purchasing a generator as well for special occasions when more power is needed. TV, AC, microwave, plugging in devices, ect. from time to time. I am new to all related info and systems and would appreciate any advice. Brands? Size? ect? Thank you much.

A roof A/C can pull a lot of current.  Enough so that in hot weather, when the starting surge for the A/C is highest, a 2000 watt genny will not do the job of starting the A/C.  That or it will have to struggle to do so and that will often shorten the life of the electrical devices in both the A/C and the genny.