Full functional box truck conversion

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angelmander

Reaction score
I posted a lot of my images in my new user thread but I want to get more feedback and talk to more people so I think this forum will be more active. I hope lol

My van is a freightliner MT-55 stepvan, its got an 88 inch by 14 foot cargo area. The thing weighs 10,000 pounds without any of the modifications I've done so far and it has a capacity of 30,000 pounds fully loaded so I wont have any weight concerns. It's a heavy duty MFer 

So far I've done both the plumbing and electrical. I ran romex and half inch PVC in the walls then put up my insulation and i've just finished paneling the ceiling. This is my first project like this but I have lots of experience with all of this type of stuff so it should be no problem. I'm happy to offer advice or help to anyone else trying to do a large conversion like mine

ask away, I really have no one else to talk to or share my conversion with so you strangers will make me happy by engaging me. Thats why I'm building this van to leave home in the first place, I cant take it here anymore

Did you install your rooftop solar system and roof vents first?

I'm not doing solar. I think solar is a waste of my time. I'm going to have a pretty hefty power consumption, nowhere near what a full roof of solar panels could accomplish and I already have a gas generator set aside for it. Don't really know what purpose roof vents would serve me