Emergency Communication

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spaceman Spiff

Reaction score
Does anyone here have experience with SPOT, inReach, arc Artex or other emergency communication devices?

-- Spiff

Overland Journal did an article on them a while ago.  It's online over on Expedition Portal:

http://expeditionportal.com/personal-locator-beacons-and-satellite-messengers/

Note that a TRUE Personal Locator Beacon requires no subscription and directly contacts the Government Search and Rescue people.

I plan to get one when I hit the road, next year.  But right now I've no personal experience with them.

Regards
John

The technology in PLBs is far superior to the Spot device. They'll work many places the Spot will not.

The PLB is better unless you just want all the features the Spot offers and are ready to pay for them.
Bob

Thanks for the responses.

OP: Thanks for the link.  I had bookmarked that article last winter and then promptly forgot about it  :s

Bob: I included the Spot because it has been on the market the longest.  They have a new unit out (gen 3) that is about $60 cheaper than the others (still requires a subscription).

I am thinking that for now I am going to just go with a boosted cell signal and see if I go to places that lack signal.  My appetite for long backpacking trips is diminishing with age.

-- Spiff

ham radio would be my choice. I like to hang out in areas where the is no cell service. with a ham you can stay in touch even if it's not an emergency. highdesertranger

A question for the Ham experienced...

Can a base and/or mobile unit be set to act as a repeater for a hand held portable?

ie....campsite vehicle left with radio in a 'repeater' or 'relay' mode while i'm hiking a mile or so away with a handheld.....bust my ass falling off a rock and need to call for help.