Does anyone cook on their engine?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thegoodtom1

Reaction score
When I was an operating engineer I would often throw a frozen burrito (wrapped in foil) on the turbo diesel engine of my machine and drive around all morning. By lunch, it was well cooked. I would also wire canned food near the exhaust manifold after popping a small hole (so it doesn't blow up). I am interested if anyone else practices this and what foods they have cooked on an engine.

Hot dog in the tailpipe is a delicacy after a few nights boondocking.

J/k! Foil wrapped burrito on the manifold is a great trick, we used to do this out on the land survey crew often!

I first learned about doing this as a kid listening to my Mom, Grandmother, and great Aunts discussing their
experiences during WW2 years.  Many of the women traveled in their government jobs and learned to cook whole meals for themselves on the car engine.  It seems they got a food allowance which was never enough to eat at roadside diners.  So they went to grocery stores with their "ration stamps" and learned to use the engine  like it was the kitchen stove. I remember them discussing things that had vanished since the war that allowed them to make coffee in boiling hot water. A device that looked like a funnel and sit atop a coffee cup so that the chamber filled with ground coffee would have the hot water filter thru it and make a cup of coffee on demand. My aunt said she still had her double edge razor blade sharpener. Said it looked something like a pencil sharpener and could make a "blue blade" sharp again within a minute.

Amazon has several books you can buy new or used. (used are often like new they are just over stock or were used at book shows)

51M1ioidl3L.jpg

Manifold Destiny: The one ! The only ! Guide to cooking on your Car Engine.