Assistance with Buildout in NC

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lyra

Reaction score
Aloha,
I have been a van dweller off and on and want to permanently full time.
I have always very much been a do it yourselfer and I am an artist so I am expert at learning whatever skills needed to create my visions, thus painting, carpentry, soldering.... I CAN :rolleyes:
I have a vision for my buildout and the skills to do it yet due to disability, I am not able to independently make it come to fruition, ie that piece of plywood for my bed is too big and heavy for me to handle on my own anymore.
I will be getting back out west but for now I am in NC and would love to get some of the basics in my van complete before going cross country.
I know vandwellers understand how personal a build is and the ins and outs of converting.  Folks who dont know these things seem to have a lot of questions, fears....  And so, I am asking if there are folks over on the east coast who could help me out with the muscle of getting it going. 
I am not sure if I am posting this in the best category so also open to suggestions if it is best elsewhere.  A gathering of folks on east coast?
Thanks

Welcome to the forums.

As an older woman with definite lack of muscles, I can totally relate to your problem.

I solved mine by designing the components so that I COULD manage the size of the boards.

For example, my bed top is comprised of 3 lift sections that hinge in different directions giving me access to the fridge underneath, a storage compartment over one wheel well that is my laundry hamper and a large storage area that holds all the stuff I don't need on a regular basis. The rest of the bed is screwed down to the support risers. None of the pieces of board were too big for me to handle.